Dear Mayor Jones,

We write today to thank you and your team for pursuing \$3 million of Community Project Funds to support traffic calming efforts in the City of St. Louis. We are heartened to see you pursue funding from every available source, including the federal government, and we sincerely hope Congresswoman Bush hears and responds to this urgent need.

We wanted to follow-up our letter of support emphasizing to you and your team the importance of how these funds are utilized to maximize the impact on safety and well-being of people moving around St. Louis. We are confident you are already taking these critical issues into consideration:

Aligning with the ADA Transition Plan. We expect investment from Community Project Funds to align with the nearly-completed ADA transition plan as much as possible, improving access for people across St. Louis.

Selecting sites based on safety and equity measures. We reiterate our request for funds dedicated in the St. Louis Safer Streets bill: the sites where this funding is utilized should be carefully selected based on factors like high-crash corridors and intersections, historic disinvestment, and the vulnerability of people in the locations considered.

Pursuing quick-build interventions for immediate impact. While we understand that infrastructure change is long-term, we have seen other cities successfully respond to dangerous conditions promptly and we hope to see changes that impact people's lives on the ground as soon as possible. Empower the Board of Public Service and the Streets Department to pursue these options whenever possible.

Staffing to support execution of traffic calming. For these projects to be successful, coordinated, and maintained, there must be dedicated staff within the Streets Department who can focus their energy and effort on multimodal transportation, such as a Pedestrian & Bicyclist Coordinator, including people walking, biking, and taking transit.

Again, thank you for your continued focus and attention on making our sidewalks and streets safer for everyone. We look forward to supporting this work going forward!

Thank you,

The Voting Members of the Community Mobility Committee

Judith Arnold
Matthew Bernstine
Denis Beganovic
Christie Holland, co-chair

Liz Kramer, co-chair Kevin McKinney Michael Ridenhour Tiffanie Stanfield